Service Studio 5.1 Help
About Platform Server Environment
Agile Platform allows you to specify the Running Mode of the Platform Server you are connected to. The Platform Server modes affect the way developers deploy and use the eSpace versions that are progressively hosted in the server, therefore affecting the eSpace life cycle.
Through Platform Server modes and the necessary operations in Service Studio, you can decide whether or not your personal developments should be available to all developers and users.
Platform Server Running Modes
The Platform Server Running Modes give you the option of updating only your private area, without interfering with other developers' work.
At some stages of the implementation of your application, you might be interested in keeping your personal developments unavailable to other developers, in your Personal Area. For example, suppose you haven't yet finished your implementation but you want to see the screen layout and perform some tests. In this situation, your intent is to keep those developments in your Personal Area. Note, however, that even when you are developing alone, you might want to use your Personal Area until the developer collaborations are ready to be available to all users or due to performance reasons (running in your Personal Area is much faster than 1-Click Publish).
On the other hand, in other situations, you might want to make your developments public, updating the Public Area that is shared by all developers.
These behaviors are implemented by setting Platform Server to Development or Production mode, and by using the suitable operation in Service Studio, as explained below.
To set the Platform Server to the mode you want, simply ask your Service Center administrator to set the Running Mode parameter, of the Server configuration, to the correct value.
Development Running Mode
When Platform Server is set to Development Running Mode, you can decide whether the Public Area, available to all users, should be updated during your personal eSpace cycle; i.e. you can decide to update only your Personal Area, without interfering with other developers' work. The areas that are updated depend on the operation you executed in Service Studio:
1-Click Publish operation: This updates both the Public Area and Personal Area of the developer that executed the operation.
1-Click Publish changes the eSpace published version in Service Center.
Run operation: This updates only the Personal Area of the developer that executed the operation.
Using the server in Development mode also allows you to test your queries directly in Service Studio.
Production Running Mode
When the Platform Server is in Production Running Mode, the eSpace is updated only in the Public Area, through the 1-Click Publish operation. In this mode, developers are able to run the eSpace only in the Public Area.
Personal Areas are not available in Production mode.
Agile Platform Database
The Agile Platform Database is shared between the Public Area and the developers's Personal Areas. Therefore, any change to the database contents is visible to all developers running the eSpace, regardless of the area in use.
There are, however, some rules that you must be aware of:
Changes in the definition of entities, structures, site properties, session variables, timers, permission areas, and eSpace references, are not allowed to be executed in the Personal Area operation, since the database is shared between Personal Areas and the Public Area. To ensure database consistency, Service Studio notifies you that this type of change must be executed in the Public Area and 1-Click Publish is required.
Changes in the database contents or schema made in the Public Area are available also in all Personal Areas.
Changes in the entity records (create/update/delete) can be made in the Personal Area and will become visible in the Published Area as well as all Personal Areas.
About Public Area | About Personal Area