Service Studio 6.0 Help
Persistency in Roles
The grant or revoke to a Role can be:
Persistent: The last grant or revoke is stored in the database and, therefore, the next time the end-user logs in, all the persistent roles are loaded. When the end-user logs-out all the persistent roles are removed.
Simply set the Is Persistent property of the Role to Yes.
Not persistent: role is lost when the end-user logs-out or there is a session timeout.
Simply set the Is Persistent property of the Role to No.
The persistency of a role is a business decision and depends on the logic that you want to implement. When a role is persistent, you don't have to explicitly grant or revoke access to that role.
Usually, the persistent roles are persistent since once the grant or the revoke is given to the end-user, you don't have to change these rights.
However, in some situations, you might want to grant or revoke role each time the user logs-in and, therefore, the roles must be not persistent. For example, the rights are managed in an external system and can change without notifying the eSpace. In this case, whenever the end-user logs in, the eSpace must check the rights and grant or revoke access to a role.
About Roles | Role Properties