When you and other developers plan your work and change different elements in the same module, the OutSystems Platform automatically merges all the work for you.

The image above illustrates a situation for an automatic merge:

  1. The other developer opens version 4 of the module in his development environment. He starts developing;
  2. You open version 4 of the module in your development environment. You start developing;
  3. The other developer publishes his changes;
  4. You publish your changes:
    1. The OutSystems Platform determines that there are changes to be merged, based on the version from where both started developing (V4);
    2. The Modified Version Detected window is displayed and you choose Merge and Publish;
    3. The OutSystems Platform automatically merges and publishes all the work for you.

Example

As an example, imagine a Contacts application with two developers working on it: Matt Jones and John Baker.

The application contains:

Each developer has to do the following:

Each one opens the module locally in his development environment and starts working:

  1. Matt publishes his usability changes first.
  2. When John publishes his changes the Modified Version Detected window is displayed to him. It informs John that Matt Jones has already published a changed version of the module.

  1. John clicks on Merge and Publish button, and the Platform automatically merges and publishes all the work for him, because they have been working on different elements of the module.

See Also

About Working in Teams | Resolve Conflicts | Compare and Merge