Front-End Workflows - fastest way to code?

Front-End Workflows - fastest way to code?

Hi all. Newbie here! :)

I'm new to Outsystems and come from a background of largely handcoding sites and developing themes for WordPress.

I've got a fairly personalised frontend workflow which I use - a combination of SublimeText 2 with LiveReload and SASS that lets me see results instantly as I code.

As such... I've found OS's "Preview" mode and the need to publish and wait for a few minutes before seeing results rather slow... Do you have any tips or tricks to make the process faster?

At the moment, I publish, make CSS changes in-browser in Firebug or Chrome Inspector, then copy to my OS stylesheet, publish and wait...

Would appreciate any thoughts.

Thanks!
Hi Quintin,

You are doing it the same way as me and probably many more OS developers. I can't think of a better way at this point.

Suggestions are very welcome!
Same here.
Quintin -

That's the same way I do it too. Ditto for JavaScript. It is indeed a bit slower than editing text files, saving, and hitting reload in the browser, but you more than make up for it on the backend side of things.

J.Ja
Hi Quintin,

If you have access to the server file system you can change the css and js files directly (in \\computer\drive\Program Files\OutSystems\Platform Server\running\espaceName...). This can be usefull if you need to make a lot of changes to the css or javascript, but you need to rememer to copy/paste those changes to the eSpace before publishing it again.

Cheers,
Tiago Simões 
Hi all,

Thanks for the replies!