Click of button should open a new pdf or doc file in new page.

Click of button should open a new pdf or doc file in new page.

Hi All,

I have a button in my webscreen.When I clcik the button,it should open a new pdf or word doc in a new page.
I have placed the doc file under Resources folder of the espace.I have used javascript Window.Open("Resource.test.doc") but i am getting a 404 - File or directory not found error.May be I am referrring to incorrect URL in javascript function.Is there any other way to achieve this?

Thanks,
Prashanth
Hi Prashanth,

First thing to test, is your resource marked as to be deployed to the Targe directory:

If the above step was done...
Have you tested the link that you're passing to the javascript, manually?
If not, please do it, to confirm that the file exists in that path.
If you did, try open the file in the same page (troubleshoot) that you're indeed able to open the file with the click of a button.
Which browser are you using?

Cheers,

RG
Hi Prashanth
You con use a more easy aproach.
instead of using java scipt you can try using the download widget. with the save to disk property set as no

if the browser support this document type it will be opened on browser...
I'm not sure about the opening in a new tab / window...
but you can put this in at the end of the preparation flow in one screen and by doing this the screen will automatcly redirect to the file and you can use the extended properties of the link to use the "target _blank"

this will force a new tab to be opened.

Best regards
Carlos Rocha

Carlos Rocha wrote:
Hi Prashanth
instead of using java scipt you can try using the download widget. with the save to disk property set as no

but you can put this in at the end of the preparation flow in one screen and by doing this the screen will automatcly redirect to the file and you can use the extended properties of the link to use the "target _blank"

Best regards
Carlos Rocha

Carlos Rocha wrote:
Hi Prashanth

Best regards