Advice on Factory Solutions

Advice on Factory Solutions

Hi all,

I'm new to Outsystems, am using Community Edition and have run out of Software Units.  I want to test out a provided CRM App (Cases) but the code/experiments I have already written push the SU count over the 30,000 limit when attempting to install the Cases app.  So what I want to do is to save my written code externally in such a way that I can restore it once I've finished looking at Cases.

What I need is some advice on how to do that.  I've searced the Forums and Help and it *seems* that the thing called a Solution is what I need.  Is there some documentation on this somewhere that I've missed?  If not, can someone please verify that what I need to do is the following:
  1. Call up Service Centre / Factory / Solutions, then click on New Solutions.
  2. Type in a Name and optional Description then click Save.
  3. Click on the Components tab then type out the names of all eSpaces I want to export/archive into the field after "Associate Components with Solution", then click on the Associate button.
  4. Click on the Create Version button.
  5. From the Solution <MyNewSolution> / Versions tab, click on the Download button next to the "Current Running Version".  Once the table showing the steps done (incl Packing Solution), click on the Download button to generate a *.osp file which can then be stored on your computer.
(Note that as an O.S. newbie, it is quite unclear just where all this stuff is happening, eg. where does the Solution exist before it is downloaded?  Also, why does a Solution do eSpaces but not Applications?  And is there any relationship between an Application and a Solution?)

Once this is all done, I can then go back to my localhost service Studio, call up my Application and Delete it, which also deletes all the enclosed eSpaces.  This is the only way I've found to reclaim the Software Units (using the Community Edition).  Am I wrong?