[FullCalendar] Get current month on a button click

[FullCalendar] Get current month on a button click

Forge Component
Published on 2013-10-15 by Joop Stringer
9 votes
Published on 2013-10-15 by Joop Stringer
Joop, I'm sorry for my little expertise (I'm a beginner)...

I have a reference to the FullCalendar component in my project, but how can I gather the current month/year by a button click, once I can't access the 'CalendarPlaceHolder' directly from my project?
Not sure what you want to achieve .. do you want the calendar to "jump" to a specific date by the push of a button somewhere on the screen ? If so ... just add a button, add a screen action like this

Just set the startdate and refresh the webblock et voila !
No, that's not what I want.

Let's suppose that the user have navigated to a specific month, via browser/javascript. I want to pass this month to the server-side so when I refresh the webblock, it will be at the same month.
Yeah that's what this does ... set the startDate parameter to the selected month/year and refresh the webblock.
That will trigger a renewed AJAX call to get the JSON data from the backend via the JSONurl in the webblock
JSONUrl? Where is it? Actually I don't understand how to get the JSON stuff working here.
I made this: On a button click, I pass some parameters to the server that triggers an SQL Query and refreshes the webblock. It's working perfectly. But still with a fixed 'startDate'.
Now I need 2 things, and this is flooding my mind...
1. I got to pass to the server the month/year presented in the current view together with other parameters as filters. So my screen action can refresh the webblock preserving the month/year that the user is seeing.
2. When the user navigate to the next or previous month, I need to refresh the Events List for the new month.
Have a look at the demopage.
On the left there is on the bottom the script to load data via JSON