OutSystems and PL/SQL

OutSystems and PL/SQL

Hello, I am new to OutSystems...
I was wondering:
1) If my back end database is Oracle and I want to execute PL/SQL, how would I setup the calling the procedure from an Action in Service Studio?
2) It seems the deployment DB in the OutSystems cloud is .Net and SQL Server? If so, would I have issues if I later want to move my OutSystems application from a Cloud Instance to an On-Premise environment which is running WebLogic and Oracle DB ?
Thank you!!!
1) Use an Advanced Query.

2) Just deploy to the new environment. The big place you will have an issue is in any extensions that may have a .NET implementation but not a Java implementation, so examine your extensions carefully. Advanced queries will be an issue if they are using an SQL Server specific code.

J.Ja
THANK YOU.
My question #1 was: when in the Cloud offering, how do I have access to say a sqlplus prompt where I can CREATE a PL/SQL which I can later invoke from the Advanced Query? Do I have direct access to the Oracle DB so I can create the necessary PL/SQL code? 
Thanks again for replying on a Sunday!
Claudio -

Not a problem!

The Cloud offering, the last I heard, does NOT offer direct DB acess. It is SQL Server, not Oracle.

A couple of alternatives that have come up:

1. Use the "Test Query" in Service Studio to send commands to the DB.

2. Write a page that lets you write queries and send them to the DB.

3. Do things in an Extension.

J.Ja
Hi Claudio

about question 1: you can call pl/sql function using a advanced query like 'select <pl/sql-function> from dual'
If you want to use in/out parameters or if you want to call pl/sql procedures, I think you should take a look at the oracle-connecter extenstion. But, be aware, for now, it's only available for the .Net Server to use pl/sql  in an oracle database.

about question 2: as Justin says: just deploy the environment and if you use extensions, check if they are supported by both stacks. 

Hans

Hi everyone,