Upload data from an excel file

Upload data from an excel file

I just started learning Service Studio this week and have created a project.  Now I need solutions for some tasks.

When I just created a table, I was given a choice to bootstrap data from an excel file.  How can I add a button or link on a page to the same funtion to allow users to load data from an excel file?

And how can I add a filter (e.g. in C#) to inspect the uploaded file to make sure the data in the file are okay?  For example, I want to make sure the texts in a colomn are all in the right format. Or I may need to preprocess the data in a column, such as converting date from dd/mm/yy to yyyy-mm-dd. 

P.S. I posted it to a wrong gorup and posted it again here.
I've been doing this a lot for a project I'm working on.  If you look at the bootstrap logic created by the platform you'll see it's pretty simple.  It goes through each record and sets the variables in the database record and then calls the Create function for that entity.  It's fairly easy to modify this, instead of writing C# code, to do anything you want.  I've already used this to set foreign keys between multiple imported Excel sheets and set other values.  I won't have users doing this but for testing purposes I created a page with a button to delete all the records using an advanced query and another button to call the bootstrap procedure.  It's all pretty straight forward once you look at the generated logic.
Thanks, Curt.