Security Enhancements

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to OutSystems and loving the platform.

We recently went through a round of penetration testing using OutSystems 8.0.1.16, and I'd like some advice on how to resolve some of the issues please.

1. When a user logs in, the session seems like it never times out. I've read up that I should disable persistent login. I'm using User_Login action to log a user in, but Persistent login isn't a property?!

2. On the topic of sessions, is there a way to enable that one session per username / password combination is enforced?  I.e. that if the same username and password is used to log in from a different location and it is already logged in, an error message is displayed to state that user is already logged in.

3. Is there a built in way to enforce account lockout? I.e. if a user attempts to login 3 times with the wrong password, his account gets locked - Only admin users can then unlock the account.

4. How do I implement Network-Based Security? I.e. allowing internal only access to certain eSpaces

Kind Regards,
Charl Lotter
Hi,

The parameter is named 'RememberLogin' in the User_Login action (set it as false).

Use your data model (e.g. one entity with UserId, LastRequestOn, SessionCookieId...) to keep track of active user sessions. I'd set a cookie for identifying each location (browser). When logging in the user, you'd check if he is already logged in from another browser.
Note that, due to the way web apps work, it may be hard understanding if the user is still actually using the application (you don't want to rely on explicit logout - one may simply close the browser). One possible way would be using the OnBeginWebRequest event action (tip: right-click Actions in SS...), to keep track of the user activity. After some minutes of inactivity, you may allow him to login from another location.