Advanced SQL Update

Advanced SQL Update

Hi,

I am relatively new to OS and am implementing an optimistic locking strategy using an Entity Encapsulation pattern and using a last updated timestamp on the entity. 

For the pattern my SQL Query has an additional where clause to detect if someone else has updated the row in the database between the time I retreived it and the time I updated it.

UPDATE {Address}
Set 
{Address}.[Line1] = @AddressLine1,
{Address}.[Line2] = @AddressLine2,
{Address}.[City] = @AddressCity,
{Address}.[CreateDateTime] = getdate()
WHERE
{Address}.[Id] = @AddressRecordId
AND
{Address}.[CreateDateTime] = @AddressTimeStamp

My logic is working fine. Adds and Updates work, or don't work as expected. But I am having trouble detecting when the Update works and Updates the record, and when it doesn't Update the record, so that I can provide appropriate feedback to the User.

The output from my Query is just Boolean and is always the same i.e. False

As far as I can see, using the debugger, the result of executing the SQL statement is exactly the same whether it updates a record or when the update fails because the where condition is not satisfied. It does not appear that it throws an exception either, as suggested by some articles on the site.

Does anyone know how to detect this condition?

I can do it programmatically I know but would rather just detect it.

Thanks

Keith
Hi Keith

Have you considered using the GetForUpdate and Update Entity actions instead?

This will allow you to lock a record for update, and then update that record safely, without anyone updating it first.

For instance, if you have an Edit Record that is populated by a query or an Get Entity action, in the update/save button action you should do a GetForUpdate of that same record, validate that the record hasn't changed, and then do an update with the new values safely. If you detect that the record has change, just update it as is to release the lock.