Starting with OutSystems Platform 9 Amsterdam, we are introducing some new functionality in LifeTime:
a redesigned permission model;
a more-flexible control of the staging process.
This video (46 minutes) provides a walkthrough over the new functionality.
We have improved the overall User Experience of the deployment functionality in LifeTime, so if you have used it in the past, you will probably notice some differences:
It is now possible to deploy single modules, instead of requiring users to deploy the full application
This allows you to use LifeTime to deploy modules that have different lifecycles inside your application;
Only the required modules are deployed, which makes your deployments faster.
Automatic validations while building the deployment plan no longer exist
Now the validation is always explicit and it only happens when the user asks for it;
This allows you to fully build your plan without being interrupted and makes the validation process faster and less error-prone.
It is no longer possible to deploy an application or module with broken references
This ensures that your infrastructure is always in a clean state.
Deployment plans are now shared and all operations are audited
Different users can add their applications or modules to the plan, so that the plan is executed later;
In order to add an application or module to the plan, the user needs to be able to “Change & Deploy” the application in the source environment and “List” it in the target environment
In order to execute the plan, the user must have “Change & Deploy” over all applications in the plan in the target environment
The Applications List page no longer automatically refreshes all the time
It only refreshes when a publish or deployment has just finished and LifeTime is still synchronizing its data with the environment.
If the page is open for a long period of time, the auto-refresh feature is turned off and the page is reloaded