feeding news from a joomla site

feeding news from a joomla site

Hi all,

first let me apologize for this, certainly, being a newbie question – I'm just an humble designer that likes programming.
I'm starting my studies in the platform and I must say I'm loving it. Congratulations for this wonderful work to Outsystems team and all collaborators!

I'm building a very simple app, that for starters, would only serve the purpose of feeding the news published in a joomla site (mySql database). I've been searching the forum, the documentation, googling for terms like "news feed", "rss", "syndication", with no luck. I'm guessing this should be so basic that no one ever bother to write about it :), but well... after you stop laughing at my newbieness, can you point some advice? please.

Thank you!
all the best,
Claudino
Hi Claudino,

First, most of the people posting here are newbies, as the platform is so delightfully easy to master*, that us oldbies don't have that many questions :). No need to apologize for asking questions.

That said, in what way does the Joomla site expose it's news? Does it have an RSS feed to tap into?

*I'm exaggerating a bit, but just a bit.

Hi Kilian,
thank you for your fast answer.
Yes, we do have one. Can you advice on a simple way to feed it to outsystems app, please.
thx!
Hi Claudino,

Check out the RSS forge component. I haven't used it myself, but from the description I gather it should be able to cover your use case.
I've looked at it, but I was expecting something newer than 2011... and with some kind of documentation...
For one, RSS is older than that and afaik hasn't changed in years, so a 4yo component should do the job. Documentation is nice, true, but to throw your hand up in the air when there's none is imho notthe right spirit ;).
Don't get me wrong. I'm really not "throwing my hand up in the air"! I'm simply thankfull for any help. As a non programer I really need some documentation, but, naturally, I won't complain about it :)