[CryptoAPI] Digital Signatures?

[CryptoAPI] Digital Signatures?

Forge Component
(4)
Published on 2015-11-29 by Ricardo Silva
4 votes
Published on 2015-11-29 by Ricardo Silva
I have a need to both encrypt and digitally sign a document.  Can this library be used for digital signatures?  I understand that you would want to hash a document and then encrypt the digest with the signer's private key.  When I tried using the library, I was successful in encrypting with the public key and decrypting with the private key, but encrypting with the private key gives an error when trying to decrypt with the public key.  

I am new to this subject so I'm sure I'm doing something wrong, but could you help me.  I'm using the RSA encryption algorithm, with keys created using your methods (GenerateRSAKey & GetRSAPublicKey).

Thanks for any help you can provide.
Hello Joe,

I have not implemented signatures with RSA keys in CryptoAPI.

Can you provide a more concrete example of what you are trying to achieve? What are the security properties you want to have?

In particular, when you say you want to "encrypt and digitally sign a document", are we talking about a binary file, or a piece of text?
I am building an app that brokers the exchange of confidential documents.  To date, they are all JSON documents (therefore all text).  The process I want to enable is: