best method to create and insert data into tables

best method to create and insert data into tables

Im new to outsystems and trying to knock up a POC to test some features. I want to be able to check an order table and see how many orders have been recieved for an item and test this against an allowed amount. based on this result if the current number of orders is less than the allowed amount i want to insert a new order into a planned order table to be manually review (dates etc) before committing this order as a new order.

I would normally do this with a stored procedure to insert rows based on values from other tables. What is the optimal solution in outsystems and are there any examples / guides around this.

thanks in advance

Gordon
Hi Gordon,

If I understand correctly you ant to populate a planning entity with items from an order entity? Assuming that there's no predictability in receiving orders and you want the planning to be as full as possible, I'd create a timer that runs regularly (e.g. once an hour) and that checks the planning load and adds orders if it's too low.

If, on the other hand, you want to plan every order in advance, regardless of the current planning queue, you could check when creating an order, and plan it immediately. Or, check as soon as an item on the planning is marked as done whether there are any items left in the order queue and plan them accordingly.

That said, an order/planning system like this is of course especially suited for using BPT (OutSystem's business process technology), but that's a bit too advanced if you're running a POC :).