Multi-threading solution(s) to process intensive problem

Multi-threading solution(s) to process intensive problem

Hello everyone,

I am new to OutSystem and I am looking for an elegant solution to my particular problem.
I am running an OutSystems Process that executes a SQL-heavy statement that calculates and fetches a pricing table for a particular customer. My current solution is acceptable for a single customer use but leaves much to be desired when running for multiple customers.

Here are a couple of solutions that came to mind:

- Write my own extension which splits each unique Process to a single thread.
- Use a Timer to run and execute asynchronous tasks

My questions are: Can I pass a Process as a parameter to be used in a thread? Or do I need something more specific?

How do I schedule a Timer to run upon request?

Feel free to share your ideas and input.

Kind regards,

Hello Ricardo,

Without having more detailed context, I would say that you can tackle this problem using 2 concurrent approaches:

1) First and foremost, optimize the heavy statement. Surely there must be a way to reduce the load and the time it takes to calculate those values. Either optimizing the query, or add additional entities and attributes to hold pre-calculated values (like cubes and data set aggregation).