[Search and Autocomplete] Autocomplete - Behaviour doesn't match lesson

[Search and Autocomplete] Autocomplete - Behaviour doesn't match lesson

Forge Component
(15)
Published on 15 Feb by Leonardo Fernandes
15 votes
Published on 15 Feb by Leonardo Fernandes
Hi.  Thanks for the component and the detailed documentation.  However, I am getting stuck in Lesson 3 at the point where DocumentSearch web block is supposed to show an error due to a missing Notify event.  I have no such error and I also can't find anything in this or the previous lesson that placed any kind of widget into the DocumentSearch web block or parent web screen that demanded a Notify event handler.

I am not an expert on the events subsystem but I would have expected that we should have put an EventHandler in the DocumentSearch web block and perhaps in the parent web screen.

I downloaded the lesson code and, strangely, it doesn't seem to contain much of what we did in the lesson 3, so that didn't answer the question unfortunately.

Are you able to state in general terms which widget in the DocumentSearch or parent screen is expecting a Notify event handler?
Hi. I would suggest that you take a closer look on the code from lesson 03. Specially the action SelectDocument from the web block Results.

This action is invoked whenever the user selects a document, and all it does is to invoke a NotifyWidget handler with an event argument (the selected document id).

Please, note that this exception is a necessary trick for making ServiceStudio recognize that the web block can trigger a NotifyWidget. I believe this is the source of your confusion, specially because it is explained on the Event System help (search for Faking a Notification). There could be other alternatives to the exception handler that achieve the same goal.