LifeTime UserManagementService API call: User_GetAllPermissions

LifeTime UserManagementService API call: User_GetAllPermissions

I was trying to use the API call mentioned in the title and ran across a strange "issue". When I make the call using myself as the username input, it returns nothing in the list, even though I am an Administrator. However, when I input a developers name who is in a Team with apps assigned, I get a list returned. 

I'm not sure how this API is meant to work, since as an Administrator I would expect to get a list of everything... I could see if I used the Team Management API that it would be limited, but since I have Change & Deploy permissions set by my default role, I don't get why the list returns empty.

Running 9.0.1.40 currently and planning migration to 9.1, has the API since been updated to resolve this or something?

Thanks

Bump

Hey Nicholas,

The User_GetAllPermissions method returns a record with the information regarding the user default role pemissions and a list of application role permissions. The list of application role permissions refers to the permissions that user has over each specific application and that you can see in Lifetime's user detail page. That is, the permissions that you explicitly granted for that specific application. The API output returns exactly what you can see in that user detail page. 

As you are testing it with the administrator, you probably don't have any specific application role permissions for that user and so the API just returns the permissions that that user has for all the applications through the base role. 

You don't get the list of all applications because the application permissions are given by the user default role as you didn't override them with a specific application role.

Let me know if this answers your question or if you need additional clarifications.

Thank you for your question!

Regards

Hi Lara,