Shared database between different platform versions

Shared database between different platform versions

You all know that when you upgrade OS, all data is kept and usually everything works.

Because of some heritage espaces we couldn't upgrade directly our OutSystems, so we created a new server for v9 and all the new projects, and took this opportunity to redesign all espaces that we could. First advice: Don't do it. If they want the new amazing apps, the old website must be upgraded. Take my advice and take a stand. This "we'll do it slowly for a few months" never works because it's not a priority. I've been migrating in my "free" time for two years now... You have an idea of how those things go.

If you already made that mistake and moved to 10 before closing developments in 9, you may have noticed that it looks great on paper, but what about when you need to connect two espaces in different versions? How can you have different versions accessing the same data?

HowTo
-Create an extension reading the existing SQL
-Adjust external keys in all entities.
-Publish
-Reference the extension in espace and rename all entities [SQL table name] to [OS entity name].
That is almost the same as refering the espace.

Advantage
The structure is already OS style so all the keys and data types are correct. If it was an upgrade, all validations in the espace still work.

Disadvantage
SQL Queries can't simultaneously use Entities and Foreign Entities. You can have queries in both, but each query must exist in a single environment.
-It means you must externalize all related Entities, including Static Entities. And extensions don't have Static Entities, but I found a workaround for that, check below.
-Also, you can't just call User from your espace and use it everywhere. If you need User in internal and external queries, the extension must have a User table and the Reference entity will be something like User2.

How to work without Static Entities