how to set the entity id starting  with 10000 in outsystems studio

how to set the entity id starting  with 10000 in outsystems studio

Hello, can you tell me  how to set the entity id starting value, for example, I create a new entity, and I want  the id start with 10000, how to set up in outsystems service studio? Thank you very much!

If you are using an standard "Id", you can't, as it is autonumber and so, it will be the database to define the number for each new record.

You can make your id NOT autonumber, but then you will have to provide every I'd for a new record yourself and guarantee that each one will receive a unique number/text (depending on type).

You can also keep the standard id and create a new field that will store the values you want to put there.

By the way, why do you need to define the start point of the id? 

Cheers,

Eduardo Jauch

Hey Guys

Im new to the Outsystems platform but I know you can set the Identity seed to that value.

For example when you create your table you can do something like this:

"id int IDENTITY(10000,1)"

Or alter your table??

Like I said I'm new to the Outsystems world not sure if one can do this?

Kind regards 

Benji

I found this on Stack Overflow

Hope this will help https://stackoverflow.com/questions/2130635/how-to-make-a-primary-key-start-from-1000

Hello Benji,

When you create an Entity, the table is created by the platform for you and that is not an option. 

So, unless you create the tables yourself and late import them with the integration studio, I don't think this is possible.

But I also fail to see why one would want to do this in the first place.

It is a question of concept. The idea of the identifier is to uniquely identify a record, not to provide information through the identifier itself.

But as I said, it is possible if you are willing to take care of the enumeration yourself.