Write content in text widget

Write content in text widget

Hi,

Ok so im new to outsystems and I have never used the 'text' widget before. Now what i have done is I simply dragged it and dropped it in my sreen. Now im not able to write inside it. it doesn't show anything either. What is it that Im missing. How can I write inside the text widget container?

Solution

Hello hafsa,

I'm failing to see what "Text Widget" is.

A "text" is simply what you type directly into the screen canvas. You don't drag and drop it. This will inject text direct into the HTML, or inside a SPAN if you provide style to it through the Style property or Extended Properties. If after type, you see the "Text" there, as if it is a widget, and than you erase all the text, the "text widget" will disappear.

Than you have the Expression and Label widgets, but they are visible when you drag and drop them into the canvas.

Anyway, if you are really dragging something to the canvas and is not being able to see it (this happens with links when you drag and drop them without a content), you can see anything in the Widget Tree of the Web Screen.

So, you can always look in there to find the element/widget you are looking for.

Hope this helps. But if not, could you be more specific? Maybe a few images showing the "text widget" you are trying to put in the screen that you are not allowed to insert text nor shows anything?

Cheers,
Eduardo Jauch

Solution

Eduardo Jauch wrote:

Hello hafsa,

I'm failing to see what "Text Widget" is.

A "text" is simply what you type directly into the screen canvas. You don't drag and drop it. This will inject text direct into the HTML, or inside a SPAN if you provide style to it through the Style property or Extended Properties. If after type, you see the "Text" there, as if it is a widget, and than you erase all the text, the "text widget" will disappear.

Than you have the Expression and Label widgets, but they are visible when you drag and drop them into the canvas.