Use Web Services

Use Web Services

Hello,
I'm new to Outsystems development and I'm using it to my final project in university.
I have a web service that giving it a Costumer Code, it returns the Costumer Details.
I have created a text box and a button in a Web Screen and a local variable for the Costumer Code that I've set to the text box.
In the Action for the button I've put the web service's method in the canvas but can´t figure out what to do next.
I'd like to have a List Records widget in the initial Web Screen showing the results but don't know how to get the results from the web service and put them in the List Records widget.

Best regards,
Nelson André
Hi Nelson,

Don't know if understood your problem quite well, but here goes...

Do you have a screen preparation already? If not, on the rigth side panel, (with something like a directory tree, with all the webscreens, entities,structures, etc..) you just right click the web screen you mentioned, and then, choose "add preparation", or something like that.

Afterwards, while inside the screen preparation, you should add a user action to it, that should correspond to your method....

Then, create a local variable of type record, and with definition of those customer details you want.

You should probably add an entity or a structure with the fields you need....

Oh, and then you should set the destination for the button, the webscreen where your list records is...

Have I undersood your problem and give you any help?

Hope so....

Best regards,

Diogo CS Cordeiro
Thanks for your reply, I will try to explain better.

I have a web service that accepts a string (client code) and returns an array of strings (client details, 28 positions).
I have a Web Screen with an Input field (client code), a button and a List Records widget.