Absolute Beginner Question

Absolute Beginner Question

Hello, I am an absolute beginner in designing apps. I have technical knowledge but need a few questions answered and I'm hoping I can get some help here?

I want to develop an app to be uploaded and distributed from the IOS store so many users (hopefully) can use it. If I use Outsystems to design this app, can I use the free edition to achieve this? As I understand it, if I want Outsystems to host it all, I would need an upgrade from the free license. But if it's in the IOS store, don't Apple host it themselves?

I'm still researching design tools to help in my first app and Outsystems looks very good especially with the beginner's course available. I don't want to invest 32hrs in that and then realise I'd have to have an Enterprise license for what I want to achieve, I can't afford that. I'm just a hobbyist with an idea.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Hi Stephen,

I was in the same boat a few weeks ago when I first fired up OS.  Invest the 32 hours... it's worthwhile, overwhelming, and a good source of information you'll go back to.

I believe you can use the free edition to build your app... which you'll then generate an iOS app for.  The Native Platform tab of your Application walks you through uploading the iOS Dev Cert and Provisioning Profile for testing.  You'd then upload your Production cert in the same area, when ready, although I've not done this part.  I've only done the development stuff.

Your data, if you use data in your app, is hosted by OS... and usable in your app.  There are user limitations on your app, but for trying out a new environment the free edition is full and excellent.

I'm not new at designing apps having used a similar environment for the past 5 years.  OS is certainly different and very interesting.

David

Stephen Crowson-Towers wrote: