Monthly Subscription Payment in Outsystems Application

Monthly Subscription Payment in Outsystems Application

I'm new to Outsystems and app development in general. I've completed around 8-10 hours of tutorials and feel comfortable using the Outsystems program. I'm making good progress on building my app, but I've encountered one problem that I can't seems to overcome.

How can I add payment processing to my app? My app is very simple. "Clients" pay nothing to use the app. "Contractors" pay $30 a month to use the app. (To find leads) How can I add this recurring subscription to my app? Is there a working module that integrates this for me?

-Levi

Hi Levi,

What exactly are you looking for? A payment solution, integration with a payment provider (like PayPal), integration with an existing financial app, or just some pointers how to go about enforcing that the app only works when paid for? Please provide some more details, so we can help.

Solution

Hi Levi,

As Kilian mentioned, more information would be needed for a better response so we can fully understand what you're trying to accomplish.

From the sound of it, you'll have a simple subscription model for a "contractor" role. I don't believe there is anything pre-built for this available from the Forge, but I did find one up-to-date component for Stripe - a popular payment processing solution that would fit your needs. You can create subscriptions inside the Stripe back office and manage them there, or build out a data model in Outsystems and have charges issued via timers on a schedule. You would just need to connect your application to your Stripe account and create customers, charges, etc. through the API. See the component for Stripe here.

Solution

Brian Gall wrote:

Hi Levi,

As Kilian mentioned, more information would be needed for a better response so we can fully understand what you're trying to accomplish.