Blank web app module issues

Blank web app module issues

Hi Everyone,
I am very new to OutSystems and I would like to test creating a simple web app from a Blank module. However, I am running into issues as soon as I start.
Once I click "Create Module" and open Studio, I publish right away and check my webpage... not surprised, I see something like, "No entry point defined". So I add an entry point to a new web-screen. Now when I publish and reload the browser I get an error "There was an error processing your request. Please try again later..."
Studio says "The module is valid"... Any ideas of what I could be missing?

Thanks!

You should create a web app from a responsive module, blank modules are typically for non ui related code such as the database or a set of logic actions.

Keith Matthews wrote:

You should create a web app from a responsive module, blank modules are typically for non ui related code such as the database or a set of logic actions.

Ok thanks, that helps. However, the responsive module has quite a bit of extras that I do not need or want bloating my solution. Is there a way to start a web app from scratch? I tried using the responsive module and just stripping out everything but it didn't work, it had multiple layouts and even with the UI cleared out I still saw odd elements on my web page. Any suggestions?

Solution

You could try using the Vanilla Theme .. that's about as simple as it gets.

Solution

Keith Matthews wrote:

Thanks for the suggestion!

Keith Matthews wrote:

How are all these templates created if you can't start from a blank slate? Like, what if I wanted to create a minimal template like the Vanilla template?

Hello Bryan,

I would recommend you to not take this path if you're just starting in OutSystems, as us the case.

You can choose the Web Application template, if you don't want to youse Silk Ui framework.

A page does not have to use a layout. You can just remove it, or create your own and replace it.