SilkUI Menu Block - data update

SilkUI Menu Block - data update

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Outsystems, so I might just miss something obvious. However, I the following problem:

I have a Mobile App, and a Screen where a User can update the Profile Picture.

I also have a modified version of the SilkUI Menu Block (including the MenuIcon Block, etc.)

The new Profile Pic should show up when I open the Menu, but this only happens when I "render" the Screen again (i.e. go to a different Screen), not immediately after I changed the Profile Pic and stay on that Screen. Not sure if that's relevant, but the image is saved in a Local Database as binary data.

So, how can I achieve that the picture in the menu shows up when it has been changed on the page?

Thanks a lot!

Hi Marco,

I'm assuming you are using an aggregate to fetch the local image to show in the image widget.

Refresh the aggregate after change/save the image so it fetches the new image. This will trigger the render of the image (it should).

If this does not work, show how you're setting the image widget and the logic to save the image.

Cheers

P.S. Assuming the aggregate is inside the menu block, the easiest will be to have a dummy input parameter in the menu block (boolean), that you invert (through not) every time you change the image. This will trigger the OnParametersChange event of the block, where you will be able to refresh the aggregate.

Hi Eduardo,

thank you so much for your quick reply.

I was thinking along the lines for an input parameter as well, however, I think the problem I have is that can't see a way to "access" the input parameter of the Menu Block from the Screen I'm using.

Since I'm new to this, I have only made small changes to built-in blocks  (e.g. the Layout Block I use for the Screen). So the Menu-Block is somewhat "encapsulated" (for the lack of a better word) in the Layout Block.