Hello Everyone,

I have a certain scenario where I would need to INSERT huge quantities of data in the database tables in one go. 

Let me explain with an example: Say I have a master table called as "University". Every University record has multiple "College" records. So - in database terms this is a one to many relationship and the "College" record will have a foreign key for the "University". Now - say that based on the data that I am getting from another database -  I am copying this data to my database in Outsystems.

I need to insert all the "University" and the "College" records -  with their relationships being maintained.

When I am doing this insertion -  I will have to insert a "University" record first followed by multiple inserts in the "College" record. Only then I can move on to inserting another "University"  record. This is because I need to set the FK when inserting into the "College" record (College.UniversityId)

So - I can imagine writing code for this in Outsystems - in a sequential, iterative manner - inserting one record into the entity at a time.

While the sequential, iterative way would work - it is not ideal. It would take huge amount of time (especially if this processing is required between two UI workflows.) It would be even worse - if say the every "College" has say "Specializations" - which also need to be copied piecewise..

Now - I am aware of certain solutions like "BulkInsert" forge component - which can help me do the Bulk Insert for a single entity (multiple records in one go for single entity) - but I cannot use it here. I have a dependency between University and college.

I cannot also use the SQL bulk INSERT ( in SQL we can do bulk insert if we are copying data from one table to another: INSERT INTO <College>  SELECT * FROM <CollegeCopy>.

But I cannot do this either in my case.

Has anyone faced a similar situation in their project?

Have you got a better (faster, non-sequential) way to implement this?

Please let me know.