How to attachment file into the records?

How to attachment file into the records?

Hi 

I am new in outsystem, may I know how to attachment a pdf file or word document file into the outsystem when I create a record?

Yes make sure you have record / attributes type as binary. Then you can put image or file into it. You could use file upload widget to do this.

https://success.outsystems.com/Documentation/10/Developing_an_Application/Design_UI/Inputs/Enable_End-Users_to_Upload_Files

But you could always take a look at Forge there are many components available to do this upload file.

hi Hooi!

I subscribe everything that Eric said and one more thing: Use an attribute called "Filename" (where you will put the file name from the source).

In resume, you need to have an upload widget, and in the screen action you need to map the binary attribute and the Filename attribute from the upload widget to the record you want to create/Update.

Hope this helps you!

Best regards,

Ricardo

Also, it is good practice to store Binary data in a seperate table that has just an Id and the Binary data, for performance reasons.

Starting out with OutSystems, I would say this is a good way to store files. At some point, however, you will want to explore alternatives such as storing the files in Amazon S3 and simply saving the URL in the database. Storing files in your database as binary (1) takes up a lot a of space, (2) can affect the performance of the database if you need to get more than a few of these records in a single call, and (3) can hog the bandwidth/resources of your front-end servers when users try to download the file. 

Hi, any example for this? I am unable to map the Filename.

Hi!

The "UpLoadFicheiro" is the upload file widget name.

You need to match the file name from the file in the upload file with the filename attribute in your table.

Hope this can help you!

Best regards,

Ricardo

Ricardo Pereira wrote:

Hi!