Can I make batch that repeatedly checks whether or not a file exists?

Hi, I am new to OutSystems.
Can I make batch that repeatedly checks whether or not a file exists and executes when the file exists?
And if I can make it, how can I do?

* The file shall be placed in the "Resources" folder, for example.

Hello Keiya,

Can I ask you what is your use case? Because there are ways to do what you want, but I don't think it is the best way to do anything I can came up...

Cheers

Hi keiya,

In Outsystems we have Timers to do such background jobs , but it will be better if you can tell more about your requirement like Eduardo mentioned . It will help us to help you finding most feasible way to do that.

See this link to know more about timers.

Regards

-PJ-

Thanks for reply Eduardo, PRAMOD.

I consider receiving a data file from another server and importing the file into the database.

When file reception is completed, an empty file indicating completion is placed by another product.

I want my batch to detect the empty file (and import data to DB).

See this link to know more about timers.

I understood that the timer can be executed repeatedly, but I do not know how to check if the empty file exists.

Can I write it in the "If" condition in the timer's Server Action?

Hi Keiya,

You can write anything in the Timer like you write in any other Action , also if the file resides in the server than there is an extension (Filesystem) which you can use to check file is empty or not.

Regards

-PJ-

Thanks PRAMOD.

Is it impossible to check the existence of a file only with outsystem's standard functions?

I would like to implement this with only standard functions as much as possible.

Hi Keiya,

How are you receiving the file? Is it via an Outsystems action of some sort such as a Form post or REST API call, or is it from a completely external process such as an FTP file upload? And where is the file being saved?