First Application - Making Sure I have the Architecture Right

Hi all,

SO I am new to Outsystems and a little over 50% the training on the web development training.  All and all seems fairly straight forward through the tutorials so I want to start in parallel with the real application driving the teaching for me.  It is for my business and not looking to develop beyond that.

I of course want to start small with a limited feature set for project management but I am looking long term for a tool that can replace several non-integrated applications we use.

So I read a lot on the 4 layer canvas and really want to ensure I am organizing this right to start.  Easy now since it will be small but ultimately if it becomes big not that way...

I am not integrating with 3rd party services so I would think I do not need that "4th" layer.  But for the 3rd layer I would need all of my entities for the application.  Is there any guide to a single module vs multiple module development?  I would imagine as I grow the application these entities will be interdependent.  But as one module it might get big on the entity side.

And for the UI I am still struggling with the orchestration vs UI layer.  Any better examples on how I might implement such a tool?

Long term is this is going to be Project Management + CRM tool to combine our office services into one place.  With a  strong notification and communication component to allow people to communicate thoughts without going to email around a project.

Hi Ivan,

Since you are new to outsystems I don't think you need to care to have all the layers right now. Just make sure you divide the concepts in different modules. For example Client, Product, Store. And everything (screens, actions, tables) that are link to that concept you you add to the respective module. You shouldn't have circular references between this modules. If you start having than maybe you should start thinking in another layers.