What am I doing wrong, i'm trying to pass a parameter to a exposed REST service

Hello.

I'm new in this outsystems world, I've done the Web Developer Learning Path and now I was developing a REST service for the Bookings Assignment. The problem is, I've created a server logic which receives a Id parameter of type Room Identifier, mandatory. Then I created a REST method DeleteRoom with a Id parameter with the same type as the server logic, Room Identifier, mandatory. And a Response output.

When I go to the Inmsonia to request the method, I pass the following inputs:

DELETE request ON Bookings_rest/rest/Rooms/Room

Body type JSON: 

{
      "Id": 1

When I execute, Outsystem's response give me the following error:

{
  "Errors": [
    "Failed to parse. 'RoomIdentifier' compatible data type is required for parameter 'Id'."
  ],
  "StatusCode": 400
}

What's happening?

Hi Lucas,

I don't know how you've created the REST API method, but by default you pass the parameters in the URL, so calling it would look something like

https://server/espacename/restapiname/restapimethod?Id=1

Carlos Ribeiro da Fonseca wrote:

Hi Lucas,

I don't know how you've created the REST API method, but by default you pass the parameters in the URL, so calling it would look something like

https://server/espacename/restapiname/restapimethod?Id=1

Yes... actually, I'm a Computer Science student in the first year and don't know much the standard pratices yet, I made this try before, passing in URL with the DELETE request and it works as normally, but when I change it to pass in the body as a JSON, it gives me the error. I'm wondering if it is something that i'm mistaking of or it's OutSystem's itself.

Ah!

I believe you need to change a number of things to get that working.

first you have to change the HTTP Method to PUT or POST, like this one:

then change the Receive In property to Body:

Carlos Ribeiro da Fonseca wrote:

Ah!