External Database Integration | No errors but cannot display data on browser preview

Hi all,

I just started learning about external database connections and managed to successfully connect to one of our company’s databases.

I have created a mobile app and imported my custom extension in Service studio. It all worked and can preview the data in there.

I have created a screen containing a list that should display the data from my external database, have no errors but on preview my screen is blank.

I am sure I might have skipped a step or maybe done something wrong … can you please help me out?

Do i have to maybe bootstrap the data and add a timer first? 

Many thanks,

Cristina

Hi Cristina,

You're saying you created a Mobile App. Do you have any data synchronisation in place, or are you using a Server Action to retrieve the data from the external database?

Hi Kilian,

and thank you for helping me out. 

I don't think i have any data synchronization in place, i suspect this is part of the problem

I imported the database though manage dependencies, but i did not bootstrap the data or create an action to properly retrieve the data. Once i was able to preview the data in Service Studio i thought maybe i don't need to. 

When i previously imported entities from excel files i noticed the system automatically created timers and server actions so i somehow assumed this is the case when linking to an external database. 

Should i create an action similar to the Excel data synchronization? would that be similar?

Solution

Hi Cristina,

When you import an Excel file, you're actually retrieving the data from the Excel file and store that in the database. For that, a Timer is created. However, when you connect to an external database through an Integration Studio Extension, the data is being retrieved directly from that external database, it is not imported into the "local" (OutSystems-managed) database (which is a good thing!).