Is it necessary to store server response in local Storage?

HI All,

Is it mandatory to store server response in local storage to use the data and its type in the other screens.

As i am new to outsystems am trying to pass object from one screen to another screen after getting it from the response.

i am doing the following..

i have consumed response and stored it in a variable and when i am trying to access the same type in the other screen i am not able to find the same datatype.please guide me how to do this.

Thanks

Harish

Hi Harish,

No that is not necessary. You can add input parameters on a screen. On the link or destinatio where you select your destination screen you can then pass the values as input parameters.

Ps. this is a very basic question, I suggest you follow Becoming a Web developer guided path training (free), to get knowledge about the basic concepts on how to create a web application.

Regards,

Daniel

Hi Harish,

I'm not sure what you mean with local storage and server response,  But If you are talking about web screens, and server actions, then yes you will need to remember and pass the info you want to use in another screen.

store it as local variable in the screen that retrieves it

have it as input parameter in the screen where you also want to use it

On navigation, pass screen1 local into screen2 input

Video about variables and their scope

Video on screen interaction

Hope this helps,

Dorine

Hi Daniel,

I am developing mobile application, i have a object and i have assigned all values to it after getting the response from the service., now in the other screen there i am not able to see the required datatype(structure).following is the screen shot

launch screen userdata i need it in the dashboard screen so for that i have declared uservalues as  inputvariable, please let me know where i am doing wrong.

thanks

Harish

Daniël Kuhlmann wrote:

Hi Harish,