Hello everyone,

I have been trying to add a left and right arrow inside the tabs that change dynamically according to the content inside/outside the viewport. I found that JS in the Tabs component in an action called AddOverlay that i believe could have the solution for my issue with a few modifications, but i am new to JS and none of my tests provided any results. Does anyone have any idea? Can i actually use that code below to achieve it? Thank you.

setTimeout(function() {
    if($parameters.ActiveTab == (countTabs - isEmpty)) {
        if(isRTL) {

if(tabOverlay.classList.contains("left")){
                tabOverlay.classList.remove("left");
            }

} else {

if(tabOverlay.classList.contains("right")){
                tabOverlay.classList.remove("right");
            }

}
    } else {
        if(isRTL){

if(!tabOverlay.classList.contains("left")){
                tabOverlay.classList.add("left");
            }

} else {

if(!tabOverlay.classList.contains("right")){
                tabOverlay.classList.add("right");
            }

}

Can you provide some more info on what you're trying to accomplish?

A drawing of the desired outcome and/or an OML illustrating how you're implementing the tabs might be helpful in answering your question.

Hello Andrew,

Thats a mock up for what i intend to do. Basicaly, everytime you have tabs outside the viewport an arrow should show indicating on either left, right or both sides of the header in the position where more content is available.

I already achieved one of the arrows by taking advatage of the LTR/RTL js from the pattern, but that only allows me to have one arrow and not both.  

How many tabs are we talking about? I was able to have 6 tabs displayed simultaneously, without any manual intervention. More than that, and I'd probably consider a different UX pattern for the content.

Hello Andrew,

I am not trying to increase the number of tabs, i am trying to add navigational arrows on the header dynamicaly...