Hi,

I have a requirement to create a screen that allows user to upload ~80,000 records from excel with around 120 columns. This would all be uploaded in a single entity. I am planning to use the bulk insert forge component to achieve this. Have a couple of queries related to the same.

1. In the Bulk insert server action, does the table name attribute refers to the Entity name or the physical table name?

2. Should I use timers at any stage of the upload, possibly to ensure that the function executes without any issues? I have read some articles about it but I am new to timers so haven't worked on it.

Thanks!

Hello Anuj,

I have one question regarding your problem, 120 columns for one single entity sounds too much. Is there a specific reason for that?

Regarding your timers question, yes you should use them to process batch jobs, ensuring no time outs and that all your data is processed. (https://www.outsystems.com/evaluation-guide/can-outsystems-handle-heavy-batch-processing/)

Ruben Bonito wrote:

Hello Anuj,

I have one question regarding your problem, 120 columns for one single entity sounds too much. Is there a specific reason for that?

Regarding your timers question, yes you should use them to process batch jobs, ensuring no time outs and that all your data is processed. (https://www.outsystems.com/evaluation-guide/can-outsystems-handle-heavy-batch-processing/)

Thanks, Ruben. Appreciate your prompt response.

Yes, it is a business requirement. Just rechecked, there are 91 columns in total.

1. Will the proposed timer in question execute a server action in which I should configure the bulk insert server action?

2. The default timeout period is 20 mins. If the upload doesn't completes in 20 minutes, should I write a logic to execute from the point of the last inserted record. Or should I increase the timeout period.

Anuj Malani wrote:

Ruben Bonito wrote:

Hello Anuj,

Thanks, Ruben. Appreciate your prompt response.