HelpDesking

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if you had any suggestions for a specific common issue.

When one is helpdesking an application, which has features related to a specific user, the best way to understand what a user says is to see exactly what he sees.

A way to solve this is to provide a mechanism to login with the user username, without providing password.

The problem with this solution is that it is a major security failure, because you cannot ever be sure that your logging history really relates to a specific user or to someone impersonating him....

This is a recurrent situation, so i wonder what your solutions are.

Best Regards,

Diogo C S Cordeiro
Hi,

I'm a beginner, but i was wondering if "Embedded Change Technology " could be part of the solution...

Best regards,

MM
Hello Marcelino,

ECT is indeed great to visualize the error a customer gets, but the ability to reproduce it is very limited, and is more directed to IT...

What i'm talking about is an impersonation feature, without loosing the track of the user that is impersonating.

Best Regards,

Diogo C S Cordeiro
Hello Diogo,

What I understand from you're post is that when a customer get's a error, he tell the helpdesk what te problem is and the helpdesk can login on the helpdesk pc in the system under the account of the customer and see what the problem is?

First I ask if thats really the good way to use. A problem can occurd by very different reasons (think about browser (version)).

The solution I'm thinking about works with the permission area's of outsystems. If you haven't used this maybe read below for suggestions.