How to save an image from a given URL

Hi all,

I am new to mobile app development.

I want to download an image from web and save in mobile device (currently Android). I read a lot post and try some plugin. but I still get an unknown error.

I use the DownloadFile function from FileTransferPlugin, Here is the error I get

and This is my Code, I'm sure the action run into the "DownloadFile2" Function correctly

Here is the image link 

SyntaxEditor Code Snippet

"http://images2.gamme.com.tw/news2/2017/03/63/q5iZop2elKCXsKQ.jpg"

and the FileSystemURL

"/??????/DCIM/ME/abc.jpg"

I suspect the File SystemURL is wrong, I stuck on these for a day, can anyone give me some guideline, thank you. 

sb chung wrote:

Hi all,

I am new to mobile app development.

I want to download an image from web and save in mobile device (currently Android). I read a lot post and try some plugin. but I still get an unknown error.

I use the DownloadFile function from FileTransferPlugin, Here is the error I get

and This is my Code, I'm sure the action run into the "DownloadFile2" Function correctly

Here is the image link 

"http://images2.gamme.com.tw/news2/2017/03/63/q5iZop2elKCXsKQ.jpg"

and the FileSystemURL

"/??????/DCIM/ME/abc.jpg"

I suspect the File SystemURL is wrong, I stuck on these for a day, can anyone give me some guideline, thank you. 

And I try a lot of different FileSystemURL as well, but still can't success

Hi, 

Is there any error log in Service Center? This would help understand the problem. 

In any case, does your application has permission to use the file system of the device? There is a plugin in Forge to deal with permissions. 

Also, where are you testing this? If in Browser, I suspect it will not work; plugins that deal with the device do not work on browser, and only a few work on OutSystems Now. 

Cheers 

Hi,

Try using file system url as

"/storage/emulated/0/test"

As I understand the download file does not understand special characters.

Regards,

Saugat