Need help adding and changing content in basic Outsystems DB

New User Not Developer Been Through Tutorials

Systems looks like it will work for me but I cannot seem to get the basics of adding (using a form on a screen) or editing (via a screen) simple Database content.  I get the feeling I am missing something simple but crucial.

I have been through plenty of tutorials but none replicate my issue or the options on the tutorials are simply not available to me. (not sure why).  It is a reactive web app.  Free/Personal environment.  Just setting up.  I have uploaded the very basic problem though this does not tackle editing (help there appreciated).  

Pointers to a tutorial or video will help. 

I am not a developer and whilst I understand the logic of DB design I am struggling to grasp the interface here.  I can see it is user friendly but if the tutorial is not perfect I cannot quite get where I need to be. Have tried all sorts of combos in the Source section (currently blank) as this does not match the Record in the tutorial I watched. 

Thanks for anybody who will give me the time to get the ball rolling here.  I have been watching videos on this solidly for 2 days and also spruced up my DB understanding over the Easter break.  Shattered and need pointing in the right direction!

Once I understand this and editing I think I will be moving... 

Hey Matthew!

Welcome to OutSystems :-)

Now, before I check what you were doing there on your module, can you tell us what tutorials you've been through? This is the guided path you should follow if you haven't already. It goes through plenty of things, including Add/Edit screens and how to implement them the hard and the easy way.

Succinctly, you can use the same screen for both behaviours, and just adjust some of the UI to mention Edit or New. The key to it is using the CreateOrUpdateEntity entity action (that you can find expanding an Entity in the Data tab)

Hope you're on your way and building apps in no time!