OutSystems language mapping to html, css, javascript

I am new to OutSystems and I find myself always trying to understand what kinds of data and objects I am really working with, under the hood. Is there a place where I can go read to get a better understanding of the html, css and js code that is being generated when I use OutSystems structures, records, lists, aggregates, functions, etc?

Hello Pedro.

You may be mixing concepts. OutSystems is not pure web development. It is the same, made simpler.

What you are mentioning is for the backend. They are literally:

Entities = tables of a database

Variables, Lists, Actions, Functions = variables, lists and functions of a programming language.

Aggregates, Advanced SQL = Queries.

The connection is easier to see in the FrontEnd.

You can add pure CSS/JS to your project and even blocks of HTML or HTML tags.

You have some common components that are literally the same (radio/check boxes, dropdowns, input fields, tables, buttons, links, images) and some are similar (a container in OS is a div).

The rest is to save work with common patterns.

Nuno Reis wrote:

Hello Nuno,

Thank you for your reply.

As far as I understand, OutSystems provides web development capabilities, both backend and frontend. In what sense is it not pure web development?

As for the variables, lists, client actions and functions, unless I'm missing something, they are not necessarily backend, they can be frontend as well, just like any other language that supports frontend and backend. The entities are of course elements of the database (so, backend), whereas the aggregates refer both to the request (issued from the frontend) and to the execution of the retrieval operation in the backend. To clarify, my question was the following: