How can I update my Entity data after updating the excel sheet associated with it?
Application Type
Traditional Web
Service Studio Version
11.10.5 (Build 37061)

I am relatively new to OutSystems. I am trying to create a form that users can submit so that the data is output into a new excel sheet. I have imported all of the data that I want for the dropdown options, and have everything wired up correctly (I believe). But now I realized that I want to change some of the dropdown options from the excel sheet, and potentially add new ones, and I'm not sure how to update the entity without completely scrapping the entity and starting over from scratch.

I was attempting to play around with CreateOrUpdate, but it's asking me for an Id and I'm not sure where I would even find that information. Some insight into any of this would be very helpful.

Screenshot20210113145014.png

Solution

Hi, Joseph.

I am reviving this forum post to tell you that since Service Studio version 11.10.16 editing your data is at least 10x faster! You don't need to jump into SQL or create a form/full back-office anymore. You can now quickly add, change and delete your entities data directly in Service Studio under environments with a "non-production" purpose. 

Let us know what you think! :-) 

Have a nice weekend,

Ângela

This is the best new feature ever! :D

Hi Angela.. This is the awesome feature in outsystems.. Now you can easily add, update and delete the entity data.. 

mvp_badge
MVP

Hi Joseph,

You need to create one Record type variable and it should be same as FavoriteRunningJoke as i am seeing.

assign variable from excel.current.label to FavoriteRunningJoke  attribute  one by one.

at last you need to assign FavoriteRunningJoke in source of CreateOrUpdate action.

see below image-

Hope this will help you.

Regards

Rahul