Views
Comments
Solved
Web block expression unable to be retrieved when used in lists
Application Type
Traditional Web
Service Studio Version
11.10.10 (Build 38781)

I'm relatively new to outsystems. So basically I created a web block which has an expression that joins the first name and the last name together. The first name and last name are input parameters to the web block. Apparently When I use the web block in table list , I set the input parameters to the source list first and last name i.e being the aggregate retrieved but then I run into this error.

Web block consists of placeholder called fullname within that an expression shown below.

Can someone please explain what i'm doing wrong ?

As In I created a reusable ui component , why does it ask me to set LastName And FirstName , Shouldn't that happen in the web block where I set them to the input variables ?

My Question Comes from this assignment

Solution

Hi Craig

The problem is you are using a placeholder. The widget put in placeholder is actually on the parent screen, So you can't access the WebBlock's input parameter.

In the WebBlock you should use an Expression instead of the placeholder.

Kind Regards

Thank you for your time ,unfortunately some did mention this and I was able to fix it.

Could please explain in more details, like how are placeholder different from containers and their scope ? uses and so on?

Solution

Hi, Craig Rodrigues,

The placeholder of a block is a place where the parent (screen or block) can put in what it need. In other words, what the parent put inside the placeholder does not have access to the web block input parameters.

Instead of using a placeholder, you could user a container and an expression inside the web block.

Hope it helps.

Best Regards

• Thank you for your help , this helped me greatly.

Could please illustrate the use of placeholders as I do understand how to pass data from parent to child using input parameters and events?