How to change the message?

Hello guys,

Im new to this technology can you please help me understand how to change the message which says "Cannot insert duplicate key row....."

In the above screen i'm entering duplicate movie title and now i want to change the message for that

mvp_badge
MVP
Solution

Hi ,

you need to add exception on a screen action or server action.

follow this post

https://www.outsystems.com/forums/discussion/62146/throw-an-exception-to-another-module/

Hope this will help you.

Regards

Rahul

Hello Ritesh,

Yes you are getting this error because you have Unique index in the Title attribute in the table.

Just remove or change the Unique key from Yes to No then you may be able to enter Movie name and you will not get this error.

Kindly let me know the feed back. 

Thanks 

Ajay Sharma

mvp_badge
MVP

Hi AJay,

this is not a solution of Ritesh Question. he want change exception message.

Please read  question carefully before provide solution.

mvp_badge
MVP
Solution

Hi ,

you need to add exception on a screen action or server action.

follow this post

https://www.outsystems.com/forums/discussion/62146/throw-an-exception-to-another-module/

Hope this will help you.

Regards

Rahul

Champion

Hi Ritesh,

You can do exception handling in our code. For this specific case it is a Database Exception.

You can have database exception handler in your code, for this Save Button action and in message you can write your own custom error message to be display on the screen.

mvp_badge
MVP

Hello Pravi,

I believe this is not a good solution for this scenario.

Because, if you implement it that way, every single Database Exception will return the same message.

Kind regards,

Rui Barradas

Champion

Hi Rui,
We can go with the approach you suggested.

OR

We can define a custom exception handler message in such a way so that it works for all database exception like "An error occurred while saving the data, please contact administrator."

mvp_badge
MVP