User account - self service options - Help!

User account - self service options - Help!

I've dug around the various fora for some guidance on how to build the basics of user management.

By that I mean handling a new web user that visits my site and chooses to register a new account:  providing personal information, selecting a user id and a password, and then logging in with the new credentials.

So far, the default response seems to be "use Enterprise manager" but that appears to be predicated on an administrator creating and managing users on the back-end rather than providing web site visitors with a slef-service way to become users with site accounts.

I am a newbie on this platform, but this requirement is vital to what I want to achieve... Hope somebody can point me in the right direction.

Thanks,
James
Hi James, and welcome to the OutSystems community forums.

Is good to use Enterprise Manager because is a back-office portal that centralizes all common administration tasks such as users, roles and the existing applications’ back-offices. But you don't need to create the user on the Enterprise, you can give to the users a self service option. 

Follow this steps:
1 - On eSpace properties make the Enterprise Manager your user provider;
2 - Add the USER_MASTER entity and USER_MASTER_Create action from the Enterprise Manager;
3 - Now that you have an user entity, just need to create a form were the user can input is registration, put a button or a link for a screen action and inside use the USER_MASTER_Create;
4 - On the action you maybe need to add permission areas to the new user, dependes if you define or not. 

Info: Inside Enterprise Manager you have actions to do the logging process, grant permissions to an user, change password...

Take a look of the style guide (http://www.outsystems.com/NetworkSolutions/ProjectDetail.aspx?ProjectId=6), is a very good template maybe helps you. 

I hope that helps.

Regards
Hugo Pinheiro
Hugo,