Passing the identifier field

Passing the identifier field

Hello,

I am new to outsystems. I am trying to pass the identifier field from a list view to a edit view. I have a link in each result on the view page. When I click on the link, I have it setup to open an edit page for a different entity. Although it's a different entity, I want it to be related to the first entity, so I want to connect them using the identifier field. I got it to work, but the problem is the user has to manually select the identifier from a dropdown list on the edit page. How do I pass the identifier without the user having to select it from a dropdown?

FYI...I named the field that I want to receive the identifier as "requestorID" and it knew that I wanted the two related. I then made the two entities related on the entity diagram. This is how the drop down started working I believe. Now I just want it to receive the parameter without the dropdown box.

Thanks!
Mark

Hi Mark,

Your description is quite short... Could you provide more details or a brief description about what you are trying to accomplish?

Regards,
Rafael Pereira
Hi Rafael,

Thanks for responding. I am trying to have a list view that shows a list of items (search results). I want the user to be able to click on a link or a button, which is available on every item/record, if they are interested in an item. When they click on the link, it will load a page that submits their first name, last name, zip code and email address into a database that I can later retrieve. But I need to know which item they clicked on so I know which item they are interested in (this is why I wanted the unique identifier to submit automatically). After they submit it, the page would then go back to the search results so they could do the same thing to other records/items they are interested in.

Let me know if this makes it more clear…
Thanks Again,
Mark
Hi Mark, and welcome to the OutSystems community forums.

What you can do is: