Confusion while extracting core module from End user module.
Question

Hi

I am new in Outsystems. We have a module (say X) with interfaces, business logic, site properties all in one module. I want to extract Core module from this module X through refactoring.

Now i have two questions:

1.) Should i shift all the server actions from X to new Core module ? If No, then what should i shift in Core module ?

2.) Where should the Site properties live? In Module X which is end user module OR the Core module that i will be creating ?  If i keep site properties in End user module then there is one problem, these site properties are being updated in Business logic and business logic will be shifted in core module.. So if site prop and business logic live in different modules then how will these site properties be updated?

3.) Where should the timers live? End user module OR the core module ? 

mvp_badge
MVP

Hi Shilpa,

1) Should i shift all the server actions from X to new Core module ? If No, then what should i shift in Core module ?

If you already have one or more _CS modules for your core entities, than ensure you have set them as readonly public, and move all logic to add/create/update or delete to these entities to the _CS module, while ensuring to set the IsPlublic property to true. In the original module set the references to _CS module actions.

If you have business logic that uses entities from multiple _CS modules move it to a _BL module that consumes the entities and core actions from the _CS modules.

2) Where should the Site properties live? In Module X which is end user module OR the Core module that i will be creating ?  If i keep site properties in End user module then there is one problem, these site properties are being updated in Business logic and business logic will be shifted in core module.. So if site prop and business logic live in different modules then how will these site properties be updated?