Work with an environment without affecting other developers

Hi all,

My background is in traditional .NET development and I'm on my first Outsystems experience (with a Reactive application), trying to understand and become better with the platform.

The company I work for has a "dev" environment where developers work and make their changes to (bug fixes, enhancements...).

When working with .NET I used Git, where I commited changes to my local repository, until I was happy with the state of the code. Then I pushed the changes to the remote repository.

In Outsystems (please correct me if I'm wrong) you make changes, or Publish, directly to the "dev" environment in the same way as other developers. Your changes then affect the other developers immediately.

If what I said is correct, this doesn't allow me to experiment with the code. Let's say I want to freely try some changes in the code without worrying too much if that will affect other developers. As far as I understand, I can't do that with Outsystems. (is that right?)

- Is there a way to work with the "dev" environment without affecting other developers?

- Is it possible to revert changes form a specific Publish if I want to?

- Is it possible to, perhaps, make a copy of the application, to test/experiment with my changes? And if happy, migrate those changes to the "official" application?

Thoughts? 

That's it, you can debug in your personal area without publishing in dev environment. You just need to have published at least once in dev environment before.

• Only after publishing the module for the first time, you will be able to run it in your Personal Area;
  • To allow running the module in a Personal Area, the environment must be in Development Running Mode.