Is this the right platform for me?

Is this the right platform for me?

Greetings everyone. This is my first posting, and I want to begin by extending my thanks for any assistance you can offer.

Quick background on me: Over a number of years, I was a software developer. My primary areas of expertise were Unix, C, Tuxedo, SQL. I drifted into management by the late 1990's, and haven't done much technical work since.

Eight years ago, I decided to try something new and bought a company that manufactures custom looseleaf binders (of all the custom binder companies out there, I think our web site is the best!)

I want to add some new functionality, and also I'm getting a little restless in my career and am thinking it would be enjoyable to get back into some software development. Combining those two things, I've been looking around for the best platform to use to develop the added functionality to my site, as well as something I could learn and potentially evolve into some consulting contracts if I decide to go that way.

I found OutSystems the other day, and have played around with it a bit. I'm quite impressed. It reminds me of something I was working on in the mid 1990's...developing code generators to take the development grunt-work out of a complex, multi-tier application.

Ok, enough about me. Here are some specific examples of functionality I am going to need. Any comments regarding the suitablity of OutSystems to this feature set would be welcome.

- The "Conference/Seminar" application: Suppose you are in charge of putting on a conference where there will be 500 attendees and 30 speakers. What we do is assemble all those presentations, print them out, put them in custom binders and send them to your conference. We also publish the presentations to a web page so conference attendees can view them online.

From a very high level, the requirements for the web app look like this: