How can I receive additional field about the logged in user
Question
Application Type
Reactive
Service Studio Version
11.51.8 (Build 58407)

Hello friends,

I'm new to OutSystems, so forgive me if the answer is obvious. I want to receive additional information about the logged in user, in addition to the output of getuserID(). 

I have extended the built in user entity and made a 1-1 relationship with the user_attributes entity. In that entity I have a field, named OfficeID and I want to be able to receive that OfficeID of the logged in user with a function similar to getUserID(). In other words how can I establish a mechanism that will give me the OfficeID of the logged in user, like getUserOfficeID()

Thanks in advance.

Solution

Hi

create server action in the same entity module e.g Call "GetUserOffice()" in that action use the aggregate to filter and get the office detail. make the server action a function and public by selecting yes in related fields

mvp_badge
MVP
Solution

I think okan wants a client action, not a screen action, that does this. And the simple answer is: that is just not possible. Of course, what you could do, is change the login logic to retrieve the user office ID, and put it in a Client Variable. Afaik that can be used inside a function.

Solution

So you need to call the server action that retrieves the officeId and with that output, you assign the value to the client variable.

What I did here was put everything in a server action and retrieve all the data I want.

Now you need to figure it out by doing step by step.

1- get the office id

2- call the action that retrieves the office id upon login

3-assign the officeid to the client variable

Solution

Hi

create server action in the same entity module e.g Call "GetUserOffice()" in that action use the aggregate to filter and get the office detail. make the server action a function and public by selecting yes in related fields