CreateOrUpdate action - what should ID be for create?
Question
Application Type
Reactive
Service Studio Version
11.14.11 (Build 59394)
Platform Version
11.15.0 (Build 34858)

I'm a newbie with Outsystems and I have to start by saying that I've never seen a product so woefully documented by a company that makes money by licensing their product. 2-minute long videos are not documentation. The use cases in these videos are too simplistic to be useful. My needs aren't too complex, but I've spend 2-3 days on figuring out how to do straightforward things. Its time Outsystems hires a few tech writers who will write real documentation.

My frustrations aside, here is my situation:

The system defined user object isn't enough for me. I need a few extra attributes in User table. So I created an AppUser entity whose ID's type is User.Identifier (I had to learn this trick to create a 1:1 relationship between two entities by some community video on YouTube - no obvious documentation for this either!). In the AppUser entity, I have added my app specific user attributes.

Now I need a list of AppUsers and corresponding Details page to create or update AppUsers. I dragged AppUser onto the MainFlow screen. AppUsers' attributes alone aren't enough - I need the User object's fields as well - so I dragged these onto the screen as well. If I just publish as is and try to create a new AppUser (I thought the system will be smart enough to internally create a User first before trying to create an AppUser as it is a 1:1 relationship but no such luck). It creates just the AppUser and fails because I'm assuming the 1:1 relationship has created a constraint that User.Identifier should exist and it fails (again - no documentation to be found on constraints auto-created).