DropdownSearch to filter Aggregate
Question

Hello,

I am trying to use a DropdownSearch to filter an aggregate. However, this is not working, as I believe I am not saving the selected item correctly.

These are my DropdownSearch parameters:

In my DropdownSearchLine client action, all I have is a Refresh for my aggregate where I use the following filter:

InterfaceValues.location like "%" + SelectedLine2.Current.Value + "%"

I used console.log to log SelectedLine2.Current.Value and it seems to be empty.

Whenever I select a value from my dropdown, nothing happens on my aggregate.

I searched a bit, but I am new to OutSystems, so any help would be appreciated. Thank you very much.

mvp_badge
MVP

Hi CB,

Given you ise SelectLine2.Current, SelectedLine2 is a List instead of a single record. Why's that? I wouldn't expect a List to be used there.

Good point, I changed the data type to text. Thank you.

Set a local variable that will hold the value you want to search by. Then, in your aggregate, set your filter to be based on the local variable you set in the drop down. Finally, set an "OnChange" event for your drop-down and use that action (OnChange) to refresh the aggregate. This will allow you to filter by the dropdown.
Also, I would change your filter query to be more like:

Trim(Aggregate value you want to filter by) = LocalVariable pulled from Dropdown

Since you are using a dropdown the values should be exact making the "like" call unnecessary.

Thank you. All of that seems to make sense, but somehow is still not working.

This is my DropdownSearch:

This is my DropdownSearchLine Client Action (the OnChanged event):

And these are my aggregate filters (I tried both with and without trim):

But this is what I get (console shows that SelectedLine2 local parameter is empty):

SelectedLine2 is the local parameter, and SelectedLine is the input parameter in the dropdown that is associated with SelectedLine2.

mvp_badge
MVP

Hi CB,